Vegan/Vegetarian and diagnosed with Celiac Disease (CeD)*?

Posted on March 25, 2014
Written by Diana Cullum-Dugan, RDN, LDN


Eating a plant-based diet with CeD means your body has zero tolerance for gluten which is found in plant foods that are also rich in protein.  Wheat, rye, and barley are common in vegan and vegetarian diets but for optimal health a person with CeD must avoid them.

RD-Gluten-Free-Consumer.jpgIf you are a vegetarian or vegan with CeD missing the key nutrients in these grains, means you must find other foods to meet your body’s needs. Download the free resource Combining Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free Diets (PDF) and discover the tools for combining a gluten-free diet with vegan or vegetarian food choices.

  • What foods supply Calcium and Vitamin D
  • Gluten-free Vegetarian foods high in Iron and Zinc
  • Hidden Sources of Gluten
  • How to increase your fiber intake

Find the tools you need when Combining Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free Diets (PDF), download it today!

*Celiac disease (CeD) is an autoimmune disease that should be diagnosed by a physician before eliminating gluten from your diet as that could cause a false test result.