VN & HEN DPGs Present Food and Sustainability Webinar

Food and Sustainability: What We Can Learn from Earth’s ‘Planetary Boundaries’

 

Date: Thursday, October 28, 2020
Time: 10:00 a.m. PT | 11:00 a.m. MT | 12:00 p.m. CT |  1:00 p.m. ET 
Speaker: Isaac Emery, Ph.D.
1 CEU (pending approval)
Cost: FREE for Members!


Our food system has a larger environmental impact than perhaps any other human activity. In this one-hour webinar, Dr. Isaac Emery will present a close look at the ways food and agriculture affect planet Earth, the differences in environmental burdens between foods, and the effects of food production on global and local health. While the primary role of the food system is to provide a nutritious diet to the world's population, different complete or healthy diets can have dramatically different impacts on the environment and unintended consequences for public health. Dr. Emery will highlight the scientific basis for the agriculture-environment connections and provide space for conversation and questions about the role of food and nutrition in global sustainability.